This is not an email scam but a snail-mail business scam with an invoice.
Delivered by post from "The Domain Registry of America". - Friday, 28th Mar, 2008
It arrived all the way from the USA in a professional envelope, postmarked from Jamaica NY.
Now OziFree does receive business mail from the US so there was nothing out of the ordinary in that.
How ever, when we opened it we found a very very professional invoice for the renewal of a domain name. Coincidentally (NOT) the domain name in question is coming up for renewal in a few months time. There is even an envelope included to snail mail the renewal back to a dud address in Melbourne Australia.
So what is wrong with the picture? Err all our domain names are registered with DistributeIT Pty Ltd in Australia, not DROA in the US! Also they are asking 5 times the actual renewal value!
They even list their flagship creation, a website at http://www.droa.com (They must have paid heaps for the 4 letter TLD), professionally laid out in "Times New Roman" like the majority of other phishing sites.
Yep, that's it, a clever phishing site to get information regarding your credit cards, banks, and to scam your domain name out of you!
So what are we going to do with this one?
Well firstly, we'll put this page up to ALERT people to the scam.
Then we will hand deliver the letter to our local police station, and make a report out to Scam-Watch Australia so that InterPol can have a crack at it.
Lastly, we will do a little snooping, and see what we can uncover, email addresses, domains, and the hosts, so that we can get their services zapped as we usually do.
Seriously, fancy having the balls to scam a scam-bait website. That takes balls folks!
These guys send out a thousand of these letters, and work on the possibility that a minority will simply pay up, because it is a bill! So if 50 pay up out of a thousand letters, then they just made a $1,000.00, plus they scored 50 credit cards and domains. 50 credit cards skimmed a thousand each = $50,000.00.
The bottom line is - anyone that sends out misleading letters requiring people to divulge sensitive and financial information, fits into the category of a nigerian 419 scammer IMHO. This is not the way to conduct a business, I mean seriously, if someone stoops this low to get business, would you trust them with your business.
They are TURDS.
Stayed tuned .. this ones a beauty.
In essence, these arseholes try to con you into renewing your domain name with them at exhorbitant rates. They do this by sending a profesh "invoice" that says in finer print "this is not an invoice". The average Joe glances, sees their domain name and pays.
He finds out later that it will cost a fortune to exit the DROA and return to his former registrar.